World Superbikes Germany

More of the same really


Story: Harry Fisher

Domination in motorsport – whether two- or four-wheeled – is nothing new but rarely has it done anything for exciting racing. Unfortunately, that is where we are at in World Superbikes at the moment, which has turned into a Kawasaki benefit with a supporting role played by the factory Ducatis of Chaz Davies and, to a lesser extent, his team mate Marco Melandri.

Of course, no-one is suggesting that Kawasaki be criticised for getting it right, nor that Jonathan Rea be penalised for being the best rider on the best bike but there has to be something wrong with the rules that leads to this situation and prevents everyone fighting on an even footing. You have to only look at how good the racing has been in MotoGP recently to see what racing can be like when the results are unpredictable.

So, rant over, what happened in Germany last weekend?

Well, it wasn’t the most thrilling racing. Davies took the lead on lap two of the first race and was chased home by Rea and Sykes on the sister Kawasaki, with everyone else way behind.

Race two saw Melandri lead for a while before being overtaken by Rea and Davies, who then overtook Rea to lead to the flag, with Rea, Melandri and Sykes trailing him home. Hardly what you might call exciting stuff and a result that allowed Rea to increase his lead to around a million points over Sykes with Davies in third another few points behind.

When contemporary race reports describe the event as ‘relatively uneventful’, then you know it was bad. But, we’ll keep watching as we always do, in case something amazing happens. What is in no doubt is that for the moment, World Supers is losing out badly to MotoGP.

Race One Results:

  1. Chaz Davies – Ducati
  2. Jonathan Rea – Kawasaki
  3. Tom Sykes – Kawasaki
  4. Marco Melandri – Ducati
  5. Leon Camier – MV Agusta
  6. Alex Lowes – Yamaha
  7. Lorenzo Savadori – Aprilia
  8. Xavi Fores – Ducati
  9. Jordi Torres – BMW
  10. Eugene Laverty – Aprilia

Race Two Results:

  1. Chaz Davies – Ducati
  2. Jonathan Rea – Kawasaki
  3. Marco Melandri – Ducati
  4. Tom Sykes – Kawasaki
  5. Alex Lowes – Yamaha
  6. Leon Camier – MV Agusta
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Related Article